BASC Club History

The club was formed in November 1969, by the serving mayor - George Sloan.


Five people agreed to form the club - Rex Bonar, Billy Jebb, Maurice McCauley, Nan Grant and Billy Moore. 


In June 1970, the club held its first gala.


Kathryn Crilly was the first member of the club to make the Ulster Swimming Team, quickly followed by Jimmy McFall, Sharon Murdockm Jacky McFall and Sally-Ann Spencer. Jimmy McFall later went on to swim in the Ireland School Team.


The top position, President of the Ulster Branch of Irish Amateur Swimming Association (IASA), was held by two Ballymena officials - Billy Moore and Fred Ruck. Billy went on to become Irish President and later Honorary Secretary of the IASA.


The Ballymena Swimmers led by Billy Moore went on trips to England, France, Belgium and Israel. When the Ballymena pool closed for a period of time to undertake significant renovations, training sessions moved to the army pool at the airport.

Get social with us.

We are located at:


Seven Towers Leisure Centre

Trostan Avenue


BT43 7BL



Print Print | Sitemap
© Ballymena Swimming Club